Oscars 2021: Nominations and Winners

Oscars 2021

See the full list of nominations and winners from the 2021 Oscars ceremony below!


  • Nomadland wins the most awards with 3 x Oscars!
  • Daniel Kaluuya wins his first Oscar for his performance in Judas and the Black Messiah!
  • Chloé Zhao becomes the first Asian woman to win Best Director!
  • Frances McDormand wins her 3rd Oscar for Best Actress!
  • Youn Yuh-jung wins her first Oscar for Best Supporting Actress and becomes first South Korean actress to ever win an Academy Award!

Best Picture

  • WINNER: Nomadland
  • The Father
  • Judas and the Black Messiah
  • Mank
  • Minari
  • Promising Young Woman
  • Sound of Metal
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Director

  • WINNER: Chloé Zhao – Nomadland
  • Thomas Vinterberg – Another Round
  • David Fincher – Mank
  • Lee Isaac Chung – Minari
  • Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • WINNER: Anthony Hopkins – The Father as Anthony
  • Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal as Ruben Stone
  • Chadwick Boseman (posthumous) – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom as Levee Green
  • Gary Oldman – Mank as Herman J. Mankiewicz
  • Steven Yeun – Minari as Jacob Yi

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • WINNER: Frances McDormand – Nomadland as Fern
  • Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom as Ma Rainey
  • Andra Day – The United States vs. Billie Holiday as Billie Holiday
  • Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman as Martha Weiss
  • Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman as Cassandra “Cassie” Thomas

Best Supporting Actor

  • WINNER: Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah as Fred Hampton
  • Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7 as Abbie Hoffman
  • Leslie Odom Jr. – One Night in Miami… as Sam Cooke
  • Paul Raci – Sound of Metal as Joe
  • Lakeith Stanfield – Judas and the Black Messiah as William “Bill” O’Neal

Best Supporting Actress

  • WINNER: Youn Yuh-jung – Minari as Soon-ja
  • Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm as Tutar Sagdiyev
  • Glenn Close – Hillbilly Elegy as Bonnie “Mamaw” Vance
  • Olivia Colman – The Father as Anne
  • Amanda Seyfried – Mank as Marion Davies

Best Original Screenplay

  • WINNER: Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell
  • Judas and the Black Messiah – Screenplay by Will Berson and Shaka King
  • Minari – Lee Isaac Chung
  • Sound of Metal – Screenplay by Abraham Marder and Darius Marder
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Aaron Sorkin

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • WINNER: The Father – Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller
  • Borat Subsequent Moviefilm – Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Peter Baynham, Jena Friedman, Anthony Hines, Lee Kern, Dan Mazer, Erica Rivinoja and Dan Swimer
  • Nomadland – Chloé Zhao
  • One Night in Miami… – Kemp Powers
  • The White Tiger – Ramin Bahrani

Best Animated Feature Film

  • WINNER: Wolfwalkers – Tomm Moore, Stéphan Roelants, Ross Stewart and Paul Young 
  • Onward – Dan Scanlon and Kori Rae
  • Over the Moon – Peilin Chou, Glen Keane, and Gennie Rin
  • A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon – Will Becher, Paul Kewley, and Richard Phelan
  • Soul – Pethe Docter and Dana Murray

Best International Feature Film

  • WINNER: Another Round (Denmark) in Danish
  • Better Days (Hong Kong) in Mandarin
  • Collective (Romania) in Romanian
  • The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia) in Arabic
  • Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina) in Bosnian

Best Documentary (Feature)

  • WINNER: My Octopus Teacher
  • Collective
  • Crip Camp
  • The Mole Agent
  • Time

Best Documentary (Short Subject)

  • WINNER: Colette
  • A Concerto Is a Conversation
  • Do Not Split
  • Hunger Ward
  • A Love Song for Latasha

Best Live Action Short Film

  • WINNER: Two Distant Strangers 
  • Feeling Through
  • The Letter Room
  • The Present
  • White Eye

Best Animated Short Film

  • WINNER: If Anything Happens I Love You 
  • Burrow
  • Genius Loci
  • Opera
  • Yes-People

Best Original Score

  • WINNER: Soul – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste
  • Da 5 Bloods – Terence Blanchard
  • Mank – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
  • Minari – Emile Mosseri
  • News of the World – James Newton Howard

Best Original Song

  • WINNER: “Fight for You” from Judas and the Black Messiah – Music by D’Mile and H.E.R.; lyric by H.E.R. and Tiara Thomas
  • “Hear My Voice” from The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Music by Daniel Pemberton; lyric by Celeste and Pemberton
  • “Husavik” from Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga – Music and lyric by Rickard Göransson, Fat Max Gsus and Savan Kotecha
  • “Io sì (Seen)” from The Life Ahead – Music by Diane Warren; lyric by Laura Pausini and Warren
  • “Speak Now” from One Night in Miami… – Music and lyric by Sam Ashworth and Leslie Odom Jr.

Best Sound

  • WINNER: Sound of Metal – Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Philip Bladh, Carlos Cortés and Michelle Couttolenc
  • Greyhound – Beau Borders, Michael Minkler, Warren Shaw and David Wyman
  • Mank – Ren Klyce, Drew Kunin, Jeremy Molod, Nathan Nance and David Parker
  • News of the World – William Miller, John Pritchett, Mike Prestwood Smith and Oliver Tarney
  • Soul – Coya Elliot, Ren Klyce and David Parker

Best Production Design

  • WINNER: Mank – Production Design: Donald Graham Burt; Set Decoration: Jan Pascale
  • The Father – Production Design: Peter Francis; Set Decoration: Cathy Featherstone
  • Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Production Design: Mark Ricker; Set Decoration: Karen O’Hara and Diana Stoughton
  • News of the World – Production Design: David Crank; Set Decoration: Elizabeth Keenan
  • Tenet – Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Kathy Lucas

Best Cinematography

  • WINNER: Mank – Erik Messerschmidt
  • Judas and the Black Messiah – Sean Bobbitt
  • News of the World – Dariusz Wolski
  • Nomadland – Joshua James Richards
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Phedon Papamichael

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • WINNER: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson
  • Emma. – Laura Allen, Marese Langan and Claudia Stolze
  • Hillbilly Elegy – Patricia Dehaney, Eryn Krueger Mekash and Matthew W. Mungle
  • Mank – Colleen LaBaff, Kimberley Spiteri and Gigi Williams
  • Pinocchio – Dalia Colli, Mark Coulier and Francesco Pegoretti

Best Costume Design

  • WINNER: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth
  • Emma. – Alexandra Byrne
  • Mank – Trish Summerville
  • Mulan – Bina Daigeler
  • Pinocchio – Massimo Cantini Parrini

Best Film Editing

  • WINNER: Sound of Metal – Mikkel E. G. Nielsen
  • The Father – Yorgos Lamprinos
  • Nomadland – Chloé Zhao
  • Promising Young Woman – Frédéric Thoraval
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Alan Baumgarten

Best Visual Effects

  • WINNER: Tenet – Scott R. Fisher, Andrew Jackson, David Lee and Andrew Lockley
  • Love and Monsters – Genevieve Camailleri, Brian Cox, Matt Everitt and Matt Sloan
  • The Midnight Sky – Matthew Kasmir, Chris Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins
  • Mulan – Sean Andrew Faden, Steve Ingram, Anders Langlands and Seth Maury
  • The One and Only Ivan – Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez

More News

Author: Simran

Content manager

©2023 What's On The Red Carpet. Site by Wiro Agency.


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?