The nominees have been announced for the 2020 BAFTA Film Awards! See the complete list below and tell us your winner’s predictions in the comments!

Best Film

  • WINNER: 1917
  • The Irishman
  • Joker
  • Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
  • Parasite

Leading Actress

  • WINNER: Renée Zellweger, Judy
  • Jessie Buckley, Wild Rose
  • Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
  • Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
  • Charlize Theron, Bombshell

Leading Actor

  • WINNER: Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
  • Adam Driver, Marriage Story
  • Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
  • Taron Egerton, Rocketman
  • Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Supporting Actress

  • WINNER: Laura Dern, Marriage Story
  • Margot Robbie, Bombshell
  • Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
  • Florence Pugh, Little Women
  • Margot Robbie, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Supporting Actor

  • WINNER: Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
  • Al Pacino, The Irishman
  • Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood
  • Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
  • Joe Pesci, The Irishman

Best Director

  • WINNER: Sam Mendes, 1917
  • Todd Phillips, Joker
  • Bong Joon Ho, Parasite
  • Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
  • Martin Scorsese, The Irishman

Original Screenplay

  • WINNER: Han Jin Won & Bong Joon Ho, Parasite
  • Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
  • Rian Johnson, Knives Out
  • Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins & Katie Silberman, Booksmart
  • Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story

Adapted Screenplay

  • WINNER: Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit
  • Steven Zaillian, The Irishman
  • Todd Phillips & Scott Silver, Joker
  • Greta Gerwig, Little Women
  • Anthony McCarten, The Two Popes

Original Score

  • WINNER: Hildur Guðnadóttir, Joker
  • Alexandre Desplat, Little Women
  • Thomas Newman, 1917
  • John Williams, Star Wars: The Rise of  Skywalker
  • Michael Giacchino, Jojo Rabbit

EE Rising Star Award

  • WINNER: Michael Ward
  • Awkwafina
  • Kaitlyn Dever
  • Kelvin Harrison Jr.
  • Jack Lowden

Best Film not in the English Language

  • WINNER: Parasite
  • The Farewell
  • Pain and Glory
  • For Sama
  • Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Documentary

  • WINNER: For Sama
  • Apollo 11
  • American Factory
  • The Great Hack
  • Diego Maradona

Best Animated Film

  • WINNER: Klaus
  • Frozen II
  • Toy Story 4
  • A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmaggedon

Best Cinematography

  • WINNER: Roger Deakins, 1917
  • Phedon Papamichael, Le Mans ’66
  • Lawrence Sher, Joker
  • Rodrigo Prieto, The Irishman
  • Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse

Best Casting

  • WINNER: Shayna Markowitz, Joker
  • Victoria Thomas, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
  • Nina Gold, The Two Popes
  • Sarah Crowe, The Personal History of David Copperfield
  • Douglas Aibel & Francine Maisler, Marriage Story

Best Editing

  • WINNER: Andrew Buckland & Michael McCusker, Le Mans ’66
  • Tom Eagles, Jojo Rabbit
  • Thelma Schoonmaker, The Irishman
  • Jeff Groth, Joker
  • Fred Raskin, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Best Production Design

  • WINNER: Dennis Gassner & Lee Sandales, 1917
  • Mark Friedberg & Kris Moran, Joker
  • Ra Vincent & Nora Spoková, Jojo Rabbit
  • Bob Shaw & Regina Graves, The Irishman
  • Barbara Ling & Nancy Haigh, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Best Costume Design

  • WINNER: Jacqueline Durran, Little Women
  • Jany Temime, Judy
  • Christopher Peterson & Sandy Powell, The Irishman
  • Mayes C. Rubeo, Jojo Rabbit
  • Arianna Phillips, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Best Hair & Make-Up

  • WINNER: Vivianne Baker, Kazu Hiro & Anne Morgan, BombshellNaomi Donne, 1917
  • Kay Georgiou & Nicki Ledermann, Joker
  • Jeremy Woodhead, Judy
  • Lizzie Yianni Georgiou, Rocketman

Best Sound

  • WINNER: Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson, 1917
  • Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic, Joker
  • David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester, Le Mans ’66
  • Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan, Rocketman
  • David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood, Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Best Special Visual Effects

  • WINNER: Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron & Dominic Tuohy, 1917
  • Dan Deleeuw & Dan Sudick, Avengers: Endgame
  • Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli & Pablo Helman, The Irishman
  • Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman & Adam Valdez, The Lion King
  • Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan & Dominic Tuohy, Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Best British Short Animation

  • WINNER: Grandad was a Romantic
  • In Her Boots
  • The Magic Boat

Best British Short Film

  • WINNER: Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)
  • Azaar
  • Goldfish
  • Kamali
  • The Trap

Outstanding British Film

  • WINNER: 1917
  • Bait
  • For Sama
  • Rocketman
  • Sorry We Missed You

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

  • WINNER: Bait
  • For Sama
  • Maiden
  • Only You
  • Retablo
Author: Simran

©2020 What's On The Red Carpet. Site by Wiro Agency.


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.



We've put together some essential info and tips to help you attend a premiere

and increase your chances of meeting some stars!


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Skip to toolbar